Rome 

When in Rome…

Day One
And so it begins… The first stop on our European adventure is Rome! Our flight was at 7.15am from Manchester, which meant we had to get up at 3.00am (well, alarm set for 2.50am but come on, we all have to snooze for an extra 10 minutes!).
We are both excited to be visiting some exciting cities, although a little anxiety has taken over. I’m not too fond of planes. There. I said it. I don’t want to discuss this phobia further so I am trying to keep my mind busy by writing this,and who knows, perhaps I’ll crank up the bass on some of Enya’s Orinoco Flow (oh, that also rhymed- how marvellous!). I always find it easier to keep my mind busy, otherwise before I know it, i’ll be deliberating over rather pointless plane details such as, ‘how many farts have been engraved into the lining of these seats?‘ Or ‘wow, these pull out trays really smell like sick‘…

Anyway, after a successful flight, we hopped onto the direct bus to Termini Station. The bus company calls itself ‘Terravision’, which is aptly named because the driving in Rome is terrifying to my vision! Our hostel is called Alessandro Palace, and even though The Queen may not approve of such accommodation, these queens thought it was delightful. Private room with ensuite and hairdryer, but most importantly… Wifi #firstworldproblems

Whilst wandering down the Italian streets and not getting lost at all, like at all, ever, at anytime *ahem* we eventually reached the beautiful Trevi Fountain. Of course it is rammed to the max with people taking selfies (and I include myself when I say ‘people’) but amongst the hustle and bustle of crowds, it is extremely peaceful. Simply beautiful.

Day Two

We had plans to visit the Vatican this morning but due to a ‘geographical error’, we decided to take a quick stop to the Colosseum first. It was awesome. Whilst strolling around the historic streets of Rome, you will, undoubtedly, get stopped by people trying to sell you selfie sticks, hats, portable phone chargers, postcards, bracelets, glow in the dark pope snow globes- okay so I made that last one up but I’m sure that’s going to be a big seller one day- watch out Duncan Bannatyne! Anyway, to simply put it: peeps be pestering you. Best thing to do to avoid this? Ignore them? Shake you head? No- I went for a slightly different approach…putting my fingers in my ears and shouting ‘LA LA LA DON’T ASK ME ANY QUESTIONS!’ The grown up way to deal with all issues. 
After a visit to the colosseum and of course, some selfies taken, we ventured out towards Vatican City. Before you ask, no, I did not see The Pope. He knew I was visiting of course but he had a hair appointment that was proving tricky to get out of, so we’ve made plans to rendezvous another day. Anyway, we visited his residence without him. It is utterly stunning. We just missed out (by seconds) to enter The Dome, but we will try and do this tomorrow, so watch this space. Another quirky thing in Rome to see is the, what I like to call, Cat Colosseum. Basically, it involves cats chilling in ruins of old Rome and it is rather enjoyable to spot lots of different felines hiding in secret places.
 Oh and one more thing…today someone thought I was Jordan’s mother.

Day three

We visited The Dome today! We are so glad that we had this opportunity to visit today because it is spectacular. For just €6 each (that’s if you opt to walk the 551 steps plus more!) you get to see a spectacular view over Rome. Vati-can I do it again please?! The steps are pretty narrow so if you suffer from Claustrophobia or bone-idle-itus then I would maybe think twice, but seriously, it’s worth it! They also have a (conveniently placed) cafe and gift shop at the top. So after sweating out last night’s dinner as you walk up, what seem like never-ending heavenly steps, then why not treat yourself to a teeny tiny iced tea or Coca Cola for a cheeky €3. Vati-can’t really feel my legs anymore. (Seriously our legs felt like jelly!). The gift shop has some interesting religious merchandise. A Santa figurine with him rest against a log fire (#SantaVsJesus) was €425. Needless to say, I was shocked at the price and expressed it as such, ‘Oh God- that’s expensive!‘ Luckily, the nun working behind the counter didn’t hear me. Phew. Jokes aside, it was a great experience and one we will never forget- definitely worth the €12. The iced tea on the other hand…perhaps not.

Leave a Reply

